What Gets My Gullet, also Ponderings on Time/Destiny

Posted: October 1, 2010 by catfishthegeek in Uncategorized

Absolutely nothing right now. I’m happy. Not just happy, but ecstatic. Mirthful, convival, gleeful.

And of course, my feminist ancestors (hah. fat chance) and heroes would be spinning in their graves if they could hear my next statement. (Tangent: Oooh, I have a solution for the energy crisis. Encase the dead in copper, make their coffins out of magnets, and when they spin they generate electricity. In this case I am pretty sure I’d be able to power all of the boroughs of New York plus half of Connecticut). I am happy, because of The Boyfriend.

I don’t base my happiness on other people, generally. In fact, it is more often that I base my unhappinesson other people. But I think I’m going to be okay if I let him make me happy, which I think has been a huge issue in some of the relationships I’ve been in the past–in addition to the fact that I seem to pick people with issues.

All in all, things are great. My job is still challenging–but I look at it this way: I’ve been doing this kind of work since…January/March. I’ve got time, time, time.

My dear colleague, my dear old soup tureen, Waffles, mentioned destiny in her post earlier. I personally do not belief in destiny in the ways she does. Destiny isn’t what happens to you–you make your destiny.

It is my opinion and observationĀ that your world, your immediate atmosphere, is yours to mold by the choices you make and the choices you don’t make. Let me clarify: the simple act of not choosing, is in and of itself a choice. To take a page out of my own history, if you do nothing to keep someone you care about with you and near you, they will leave and find someone else who will give them what they need. By not choosing to be free with your affection, to be free with your kind words, you’ve chosen to let them go. And I’m happier for it, so I wont complain. But that’s the example I’m choosing to use. And in essence I’m choosing not to be a pharmacist by not finishing school, because I’ve decided that having a life is more important than an absorbing career.

I do envy Waffles, not for her station in life, but because she knows what her destiny is. I’m perfectly content to be a technician for the rest of my working life–but I don’t know that that is what I will do. I know eventually I’ll have my family and golden retriever, but for right now I’m having fun on Friday date nights and shopping on saturday nights with my BFF.

But while we’re on the subject of destiny, I would like to share what I’d like to do if given the means. I’d be a freelance writer. Blogs, magazines, books, whatever. If that ever happens, I expect to receive a purple smoking jacket made of satin with black trim and a pipe. Just FYI, my birthday is in August.

Leave a Reply

